Traffic Jam.

Traffic Jam.

I went to Maine today. It was a last chance to visit my son and his family before they move farther away than a day trip. I left Connecticut before 6am and it dawned on me a little while later that I was driving to Vacationland  (Maine’s nickname) on Friday of an extra long weekend (Independence Day) I was early enough to avoid traffic on the way there. I did encounter some slowdowns on the way home, but nothing like the jam on the northbound side of I-95 as I headed out of Maine and through New Hampshire and into Massachusetts. The outside temperature was in the high eighties and I think it’s safe to say that it was a hot jam.

I was tired on the way home. I stopped at a grocery store and bought some cherries and apricots and roast beef  (for the protein) and had a planned snack that lasted a  long time and involved more food than I probably needed. I stayed awake and alert though.

About an hour away from home, I felt like stopping for more food. I was aware that I wasn’t hungry and it was more of an emotional or addictional response. In my state (Connecticut and mental), I could feel myself planning where I could stop and what I would buy. Yes, it was me looking for a hit. And then, just as I approached the exit, I got a phone call. Saved by the bell. Really. I needed that intervention and it worked.

I think I can take that experience and use it to bolster me tomorrow when the addiction tries to sweet talk me into something I really don’t want, or need.

What I really want is control and feeling good. Just like I wanted 5 and a half years ago when I started on my I’m Possible Journey.  I don’t want a traffic jam in my head. I need to remember that actually I can.

Speaking of traffic, I was looking at the map of countries represented in my readership and saw that my blog has had traffic from 50 countries. I  thought that was pretty exciting.

On the information super highway, people all over the world have stopped by to read my blog. Perhaps for some it has been a little rest stop. And maybe for others, it has been a motivational pick up. Others might have viewed my stream of consciousness as a traffic jam of words. Perhaps someone has come by feeling jammed and left feeling a little less stuck up. Or something.

Hopefully, I’ve helped someone smile along the way. And along the way, some folks have left comments that give me a boost and make me smile.

Thanks for reading! Good night!

 

Leave a Reply

