Triple Chick Chili Cheese Bake.

Triple Chick Chili Cheese Bake.

On Tuesday, my husband and I went to New Hampshire to help our daughter and son in law with this end of their move to Wyoming. We fit all they could stuff into five linear feet of an ABF truck and their Mazda 3. We made a dump run, a Goodwill run and then the rest (including the contents of their fridge and freezer) came home with us.

There wasn’t much in the fridge and freezer. Just a single chicken breast, four eggs, some cheese, part of a half gallon of whole milk, a bag of frozen peas and a bag of frozen corn. Had I remembered before I made this dish that we also brought back some homemade pickled jalepenos, they would have been in this recipe instead of the green chilies. But then, I would have had to come up with a different name. And I kind of like this one. Say it five times fast! It reminds me a bit of Fox in Socks.

Triple Chick Chili Cheese Bake
(9 inch cast iron skillet, mixing bowl, mixing sppon or spatula, blender or food processor, stove top, oven)

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 boneless skinless chicken breast (about 6 ounces)
1 4.5 ounce can chopped green chilies
1 15.5 ounce can chick peas
4 eggs
1 pound frozen corn
4 ounces seriously sharp cheddar
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon baking powder

Heat oven to 350 F.

Cut chicken into small chunks and cook them in a cast iron skillet with the olive oil. Remove from heat, pour into large mixing bowl and add the corn, chilies, and cheese.

In blender or food processor, puree the chick peas with the eggs, salt, cumin, and baking powder.

Mix the chicken and chick pea/egg together and pour them to the cast iron skillet.

Bake in preheated oven about 30 minutes or until the top is golden and a toothpick inserted into the middle of the casserole comes out clean.

Serves 6

This recipe is partly brought to you by my husband’s food tracking. I don’t usually measure ingredients, but it’s much easier for him to use his tracking app if he can put in a recipe and track from that. Especially if there are leftovers. It’s just the two of us here most of the time now. So, yes, there are leftovers for lunches. Again. Yes!

I’m adjusting to the recipe thing even if it slows my cooking down a bit. (I’ve started using a crock pot more, so this seems to fit with the slow cooker program!) Besides, I know it can help me with my cookbook project.

Speaking of cookbook projects. I’m thinking it would be good to have some basic recipes with variations. That’s how I cook. This recipe is actually a variation of a lemony garbanzo bean cake recipe I found years ago in Jean Carper’s The Food Pharmacy Cookbook. I think I’ve made enough adjustments to call this recipe my own, but I’m happy to give Ms. Carper some credit!

I’m not quite sure how to present the variations. Actually, I’m not quite sure how to present the recipes! Perhaps I’ll try out some styles here.

Variations on a Triple Chick Chili Cheese Bake: Use two cans of chicken instead of fresh. Keep the oil in the recipe for texture. Or try it without oil if you are counting calories. Use ground beef instead of chicken. Substitute a can of Ro*Tel tomatoes or a cup of salsa for the chilies. Substitute homemade jalepeño pickles for the chilies. Leave out the cheese. Serve with sour cream and black olives and guacamole. Or avocado slices and lime wedges. Or not. Leave out the corn and add diced red and green peppers. Or leave in the corn and add the peppers! Perhaps you get the idea. And then you can make up a recipe name to go with the ingredients. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

