Chicken Pot Pie with Sweet Potatobanzo Souffle Topping.

Chicken Pot Pie with Sweet Potatobanzo Souffle Topping.

I’m working on the name of this recipe. I’m actually working on the recipe, too. But that’s beside the point. I discovered last week that adding a baked and mashed sweet potato to my garbanzo bean casserole topping made it light and fluffy and oh so delicious. (By the way, I’m talking about a topping for casseroles, not a garbanzo bean casserole.)

The chicken part of the dish was from cubed leftover roasted chicken, leftover roasted vegetables, a bit of chicken stock with corn starch, celery and dried onion. I topped it with some leftover shredded pepper jack cheese.

The part of the recipe that I would change at this point is to pop the casserole dish in the oven to get the filling piping hot before putting on the topping. Had I done that for this experiment, the topping would have baked evenly and more completely.

Speaking of the topping, it was a can of garbanzo beans drained and rinsed, four eggs (minus the shells), 1/3 cup vegetable oil (I would use melted coconut oil another time), a large baked sweet potato mashed (minus the skin), a teaspoon of salt and a tablespoon of baking powder. I pulsed it in the food processor until it was smooth. Then I put it on top of the chicken mixture. Baked at 350ºF for 30 minutes.

This recipe has been brought to you by me not eating my way through the afternoon. I’ve worked my way through some rough spots by working on this post. I’m going to publish it and add a picture from my phone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

