Just.

There’s something about the word “just” that doesn’t set quite right when it’s talking about weight loss or running distance. For instance, I ran a half marathon at the beginning of October. When people congratulated me on my marathon, I found myself saying, “It was just the Half.” As if it were a small feat. Anything I do in my size 11.5 running shoes doesn’t fit small feet. But I jest.

Backing up a bit, I lost over seventy-five pounds in 2012. If I measured from my highest high to my lowest low, it was over ninety pounds. But it seems to pale in comparison to the folks who have lost 200 or 300 pounds. I just lost close to a hundred pounds, instead.

But more, or less, than that, I met a woman this past summer who had joined Weight Watchers to lose twenty-five pounds. And she did it. She’s kept an awareness of her food so she didn’t just have to lose it again. If she goes up just a pound, she’s just on it. And she’s living at lifetime with Weight Watchers.

I know another woman who joined Weight Watchers to lose eight pounds and drank a lot of water before weigh in so she would weigh the, then, requisite ten pounds over her ideal goal weight. It wasn’t just eight pounds. It was all of eight pounds that she wanted help to get rid of so she could Go On And Live at her GOAL of lifetime healthy. Just eight pounds is like carrying a gallon of water everywhere you go. It’s noticeable after not too long. This same woman told me that she had learned to respect a pound in either direction. Not just a pound.

Too many just a pounds can add up to 300 extra pounds. And if a person has added those 300 just-a-pounds, it may seem daunting to attempt to get rid of them. But one significant pound at a time can take them away in time. Well, I can’t speak from experience for that, but I can say that my collection of just extra pounds went away just one or two at a time. Sometimes it was just a fraction of a pound. But it was a significant fraction in the right direction. And it all added up–or subtracted–as I paid attention to just what I was eating and thinking and doing. As I continue paying attention, I continue to live in my healthy weight range four years later.

Revisiting the distance idea: There are people who run ultra marathons of tremendous distances that could make a full marathoner feel like saying I just (only) ran 26.2 miles. My run of 13.1 miles (13.32 on my Garmin watch!) was more than I ever ran up into my fifties. It’s not a run of the mill thing for a person to do. It involves training, discipline, will, and good shoes (good knees help, too). I have an almost 97 year old friend who can walk down her apartment hallway–a significant distance for her and her new hip.

I could slip in a cliche here: It’s all relative. And then I could tell you what I noticed last week about punkins. They’re relatives who enjoy word play.

I could say I’m just fooling around now, but I think comic relief is better than rolaids for me. Sometimes I roll with the punches and sometimes I throw them a line. Yeah. A punchline. Oh my word. This is getting absurd.

But speaking of abs, I have a new Blaze fitbit that has an ab workout on it. I think it’s just ten minutes at a time, but it’s capable of producing a six-pack (of bottled water). Or at least the need for part of one to take ibuprofen for muscle pain! So maybe the “just” shouldn’t be used with exercise unless it’s just do it. Even if it’s ten minutes, it’s significant. Not everybody notices, but my body does.

This may seem just ridiculous, but it’s actually me taking care of myself. Processed thoughts are better for me than processed food. And I’ve noticed that writing usually helps my mood.

Perhaps this post has given some food for thought. Or a smile or two, instead of a chew. I hope you have a significantly good day!

 

Leave a Reply

