Signs of Success.

#Signsofsuccess was a recent prompt in Weight Watchers Connect app. Connect is the replacement for the blogging community that was taken down this past summer. Because writing and connecting with people with similar stories is one of the tools I use to manage my sugar addiction, I have been trying to make Connect work for me.

It hasn’t been a smooth transition. But I feel like I’m making progress. I don’t feel personal connections to individuals the way I did with blogging, but there are a few people I am starting to recognize and interact with. One of the big deals with Connect is TRENDING. When I open the app, I am greeted by a post that has thousands of likes and hundreds of comments  (think twitter/facebook). It feels a bit like a popularity contest.

I can’t figure out how or why a post trends. Some people blatantly ask for it. Others post a picture of a car accident or a sick person or a before and after collage. Sometimes it is a first day on program picture. Someone told me I was trending one day with a post that highlighted some of my frustration with TRENDING! I got over a hundred likes with that one. But I digress. Here’s what I wrote about this morning. When I read it over, I thought I’d share my thoughts here, too.

Yesterday was a 53 SP (my daily allotment is 30) tracked day with no angst about using my weekly points (I had even forgotten that a new week started today). This morning I weighed less than I did yesterday morning.

The #signsofsuccess is that I am not celebrating that by throwing caution to the wind and eating everything in sight (been there, done that, couldn’t stop).

I have learned, especially over the last five years, that the number on the scale is not as much a sign of success as the reaction of my brain. This is lifetime. I’m doing what works for me to stay in control of my sugar addiction. The price? Paying attention to what I eat and how I feel. Totally worth it.

Ongoing success story, post publication. I’m not saying the road is always smooth or that I have never deviated from it. I’m saying there is a road. It’s possible. I’m Possible. You are, too!

The I’m Possible Journey: Learning to Live with Sugar Addiction. It’s my best cellar foundation of support for a healthy me: physically and emotionally. In memory of my dad, who was one of my best encouragers.

This post may look like shameless promotion of me, but it’s really a shout out to Weight Watchers tools. They work for me when I use them.

Thank you to all who have read my book. If you are intrigued, check it out at your local library. If they don’t have it they can order it.

I’ve wondered, at times, if TRENDING is a sign of success. But I have to think the answer is no. Perhaps it is more of a sign that a ton of other people want you to have success. The actual sign of success is doing it. Every day. In the spotlight or not. Best wishes for personal signs of success all day long!

One thought on “Signs of Success.

Leave a Reply

