More (een) Sugar Free. Coconut Lime Bars and Lobster Rolls.

More (een) Sugar Free. Coconut Lime Bars and Lobster Rolls.

IMG_20160715_104630FB_IMG_1468755372953I found a great blog the other day. It’s associated with Sugarfreelondoner.com. She has some wonderful looking recipes. I tried one out the other day with rave results and requests for the recipe. Check out her sugar ftee coconut blondies.

Her recipe calls for erythritol or xylitol. I used monkfruit with erythritol. I found it at Stop and Shop. It tasted great, but it made me a little nervous. Especially the day I just wanted to eat the rest of the pan all at once.

My sugar addiction isn’t about glycemic index or blood sugar levels. It’s about the hit in my brain that has to do with beta endorphin response. That’s as scientific as I get. There’s science and data and all kinds of facts but the proof that helps me is in how I acts. Too sweet, without protein to offset and the structure of a meal, means trouble tout de suite, for me.

I have been experimenting with no sugar added baking and cooking. It’s all good as long as I don’t taste it outside of a meal. And as long as I don’t try to fool myself into thinking, “no sugar added, it won’t make me padded.” (I say that in terms of extra weight, and the thought of my addiction bouncing off the walls.)

Yesterday, I made a variation of the coconut blondies referenced earlier. I omitted the almond milk and erythritol and used two ripe mangoes and a tablespoon of lime zest instead. I pureed the mango, eggs, and coconut oil in the blender before mixing in the rest of the ingredients. I didn’t have unsweetened coconut flakes so I sprinkled slivered almonds on top. It looked nice, but I prefer the taste and texture of coconut. And yes, I waited until lunch to taste just one serving.

I had also made another batch of no sugar added lime curd using coconut oil instead of butter. My lunchtime serving of coconut lime bar was topped with a dollop of the fresh lime curd.

It was a big deal for me to wait for the first taste. And it was so worth it. It tasted yummy but even better, I remained in control of my eating for the rest of the day. I  was satisfied with the portion. And that was enough.

Today I turned 54. Today I ate three meals and nothing more. Well, I did more than eat three meals. But food wasn’t my focus. Until supper. And then I got my phone out to take a picture of my birthday treat.

A quarter pounder (lobster meat) with avocado and romaine on a buttered and grilled flaxseed bun.

 

 

Leave a Reply

