Oh Curd!

Oh Curd!

I made no sugar added lemon curd again last night. I used the recipe I adapted from my cousin’s tried and true (and loaded with sugar) recipe and also some recipes I found in a Google search. It’s the recipe I offered to send to anyone who requests it in an email. It’s good stuff. I have it on my own taste test and the say so of five other people, three of whom are not related to me. If you’d like to try the recipe and add your thoughts about it, please send me an email at cinnamonroll@sbcglobal.net.

The last post I wrote about lemon curd included strained Greek yogurt, or yogurt cheese. This time, I’m including meringues. Because what else would one do with the two leftover egg whites from the curd recipe? (Well, the first time, I used them in an omelet for my lunch. But last night, I thought meringues made a lot of sense.)

I put the two egg whites and 1/8th of a teaspoon of cream of tartar in the bowl of my Kitchen Aid mixer and used the wire whisk attachment to beat them to a froth and then stiff peaks. I added a pinch of stevia and 1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract and beat it a little more. Then I spooned out about ten blobs of the fluff onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet and popped it in the oven which was set at 275°F for 55 minutes. I turned the oven off and left the meringues in overnight. I actually forgot about them until lunchtime today.

I was glad I hadn’t preheated the oven for another experiment in the meantime. It would have been a mean time for the meringues if I had. I decided to make dessert for lunch because I had a hunch it would provide a good amount of protein, some fat, and fruit (a bunch). I placed two of the meringues on a plate, scooped out about two tablespoons whole milk Greek yogurt cheese, and topped that with two tablespoons lemon curd. I decorated it with a sprig of fresh mint from my garden. Just because. And I took a picture.

I think it looks like a cloud with a golden lining. When life gives you lemons, make curd. When the skies are cloudy, think meringues. It lightens things up a bit. At least it did for me! I was celebrating my successful completion of an insurance incentive which tends to set me on edge. I was also celebrating a 5+ mile run after being sidelined with a health issues for a few weeks. No sugar added.

I will make this again and again. The only thing I will do differently with the meringues next time is make them without stevia. I couldn’t taste it, which is good. But I want to see what they’d be like sans stevia because I’m not convinced stevia is a great option for me. That sprinkling of French triggers a thought I had when I was eating the meringues. They seemed more like profiteroles (cream puffs) than meringues. Light as a cloud but not completely crispy. Not soggy, though. Layered with the  yogurt cheese and lemon curd, it was parfait!

And now, I’m standing by. Waiting for your emails requesting the lemon curd recipe. (Well, actually, I’ll be ironing shirts for a while and then doing some other things. But I’ll check emails from time to time and respond, or turnaround, on my new paradigm!)

 

One thought on “Oh Curd!

Leave a Reply

