I’m Possible Baking

I’m Possible Baking

I made some cookies last night. I’m not eating them because I have trouble with dates. (That has nothing to do with history, it’s just mystory. )  I made the cookies because I am spending some time in a hospital waiting room today and my Irish heritage seems happier when I bring food in case someone needs it. (I also have tuna and applesauces pouches with me, but they’re what work for me.) I thought the cookies would work for the people I’m waiting with. (UPDATE! My 96 year old friend’s hip replacement surgery went very well. She was up and walking this evening.)

My husband and daughter approved them last night. And the person that I am with asked for the recipe. So I am going to share it here with the disclaimer that I made up the recipe as I made the cookies. I will make them again using what I just typed out but if you want to test them out first, go for it! (And let me know what you think, please.) They are dairy, gluten, and processed sugar free. (UPDATE! I made the recipe according to the directions I typed up this morning. I actually measured the ingredients. My daughter tasted them and declared them a little different than last night’s batch. I think I used more almond extract today. She approved.)

Chocolate Almond Coconut Cookies.

Oven temp 350F  yield: 24 cookies

8 Oz pkg pitted dates, 1/4 cup coconut oil, 1/2 cup cocoa powder, 1/4 cup almond butter, 1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut, 1 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp sea salt, 1/2 tsp pure almond extract, 1 egg

Blend all ingredients in food processor until smooth. Drop rounded tablespoons of cookie dough two inches apart on parchment lined baking sheet. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and slightly flatten cookies with a spatula or the bottom of a drinking glass. These firm up as they cool.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “I’m Possible Baking

  1. “Get thee behind me satan” 🙂
    Seriously, it’s impressive that you can bake without tasting.
    It was what got me hooked I think. I had quit sugar and wasn’t eating it. Then I was baking for others an before I knew it…Well, I can’t even have sugary food at home now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope I didn’t cause any problems for you! It has taken me a long time to get to where I am and I don’t take it for granted. I like to cook creatively and the smell and actions (other than eating) are part of that. I have a vivid memory of the overdosing, though. And that’s a deterrent for me. Do what works for you! And best wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No doubt it was appreciated by the recipients! And it’s the ultimate litmus test of your victory over sugar abuse. But I for one won’t be following in your footsteps any time soon….

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

