Mot Hers Day.

Mot in French means word. Oh my word! It’s MotHers Day! I’m thankful for my mother’s words. And I’m also thankful for the words she hasn’t said. Even when she might have wanted to say something.

She has been a big supporter of my efforts to gain and keep control over sugar. She has cheered me on when things have gone well. And she’s kept quiet when I was struggling. Because she knew words were not what I needed right then. I needed her solid steady influence along with her unwavering unconditional love. Sometimes love just isn’t about the words.

There are other times when there were no words. I remember just a look that could say more than a book. And the message came through loud and clear from my mother dear. Even if I didn’t appreciate it at the time, I appreciate it now.

I know she speaks to others about my book. She promotes my words to her friends and to her meeting members at Weight Watchers. She took my words on a cruise and placed them in the lending library. She never saw that copy again. Her wish was to encourage someone, I think. But maybe the pastry chef confiscated it.

If, by chance, the person who picked up the copy of The I’m Possible Journey: Learning to Live with Sugar Addiction  on a recent cruise to the Panama Canal is now reading this blog entry, please leave a comment. We’d love to know what you think about it! And if you just got the book by some other means and you’re reading this now, you’re welcome to leave some words here, too. (Mot-yours?)

Whatever the case may be, I wish you and your mother (alive or a memory) a wonderful day.

6 thoughts on “Mot Hers Day.

  1. Funny how Mother’s day is celebrated at different times in different countries.
    A mother’s love is something special and I miss it. Hoping to meet her again in heaven, God willing… It’s been so long now that the difficult things are forgotten. Only her kind moments are remembered.

    The book looks great – I’ll get a copy when the winds have turned for me… I read one book on sugar addiction a while back: The one that talks about eating a potato before bedtime every night. But I’ve taken the step for good now – I need something more holistic that tells me how to leave the sugar behind and never look back. Your book sounds like it might be the ticket.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually, Potatoes Not Prozac was what got me started. I’ve adapted and collected tools that work for me. I think that everyone is unique and one-size-fits-all programs don’t really work. My book is meant to be an encouragement. There’s a look inside feature on amazon.com that could give you a better idea of what I’ve put together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

