Chocolate Banana Nut Bakies.

Chocolate Banana Nut Bakies.

These look like cookies and they taste like cookies. I know because I tasted them. They have no gluten, no dairy, no processed sugar, and no artificial sweetener. They are still dangerous, though. Because they taste really good. I’ve had enough tastes and experienced the after taste (wanting more and more) and the after after taste (why did I eat so many? I feel lousy!) to know that I’ve had enough of these bakies. But I’ll share the recipe with people who are interested. I think they probably have better nutritional value than regular cookies. But the value I have from them is the memory of the taste and the realization that sugar in the form of overripe bananas and raisins is still sugar for me.

The idea for these bakies came this morning when I saw two very ripe bananas on the counter. I knew I had a Sam’s Club size container of cocktail peanuts in the hall closet. (It was an impulse buy on a day I’d started to graze. I’m still learning to live with my sugar addiction and while things are so much better than they were, this matter of fine tuning my awareness of danger continues.) I know better than to buy lara bars. And I could have known better than to make a spin off version. But in the interest of my non-scientific research, I have a recipe to share and bakies to get rid of.

Oven temperature 375 degrees Fahrenheit. I used the convection bake feature on my oven, but I think it would work fine with a conventional oven.

2 very ripe bananas

2 cups cocktail peanuts (you could probably use raw peanuts and add 1 teaspoon salt)

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup raisins

I blended all of these ingredients in my food processor with a metal blade. I had wondered about adding some milled flax seed, but I decided not to when the consistency looked enough like regular cookie dough.

I lined 3 baking sheets with parchment paper, dropped the dough from a teaspoon and decided to leave them in irregular shapes. (By the way, the blobs were about two inches apart, in case you want to know.) It had crossed my mind to roll them into balls and make fork marks on them, but I decided not to take the time to do that.

Baking time was about 10 minutes. I flattened the cookies when I took them out of the oven, but I don’t think that’s necessary. They’re a soft cookie (oops! bakie) that holds together pretty well. I thought they were a little like muffin tops. Which might be appropriate. Too many of these bakies might produce your own muffin top.

These also reminded me a little of Russell Stover chocolate/coconut nests with jelly beans. I used to love to eat them around this time of the year. Well, I don’t know that I really loved to eat them. But my sugar addiction craved them and ate as many as possible. I considered toasting some coconut and adding it to the recipe, but I didn’t. You can, though!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

