Apple Bakies.

I don’t eat cookies. But I eat bakies. Apple bakies! They have to be in a controlled setting for me to feel comfortable after eating them. I could be comfortable eating a whole pan of them if I didn’t think ahead to how I’d feel after. Very uncomfortable. Too much sugar and too much volume. My addiction seems to turn off my full signal so I have to have other means for control. Start and stop. Automatic brakes. So I don’t start to break down. Out of control.

So. Apple Bakies. I wash, quarter, and seed apples. It doesn’t matter how many. I like to use Gala, Fuji, Empire, or Granny Smith apples. Three or five pounds seems like a good amount to fit into a baking dish a little mounded, but not heaped. I grease (spray) the pan before I put the quartered apples in it. I shake ground cinnamon liberally over the apples to coat them. Then I splash some vanilla extract on top of that. I haven’t measured it precisely, but I’d say it’s probably between a teaspoon and a tablespoon worth of vanilla.

Then the pan goes into the oven for the baking part. 350 degrees F. Or 400 if you don’t have quite as much time to bake them.  Depending on the type of apple, they’ll be done in 45 minutes to an hour and a half. Not very scientific, I know. But the Granny Smiths I’ve used have turned to mush if they’re baked too long. The Galas and Fujis can stand the heat longer. They retain their firmness and shape better and therefore keep their finger-food designation. Just start checking after 45 minutes. No comment on the grannies not holding their shape and firmness.

It’s the finger-food part of these apple bakies that appeals to me (along with the general deliciousness). I don’t eat cookies, but these bakies work for me as long as I’m using the other tools that work for me to control my sugar addiction. I feel comfortable serving these for dessert along with ice cream and cookies. I don’t have the ice cream or cookies, but the bakies work well for everyone.

When I started thinking about this post about baking, I thought Study Baker. Like Studebaker. And then I thought about hi-test, as in gas, and high test, as in eating too many. All that aside, these apple bakies are a good substitute for sugar in some recipes.

I decided to make some muffins last week using about three cups (loosely packed) of the apple bakies in the blender. I added 4 eggs, a drained can of garbanzo beans, 3 T. coconut oil, 1 T. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Blended it all until smooth. Poured it into 12 lined muffin cups and baked them for about 20 minutes (until set and springing back to touch) at 400 degrees F. (Yes. Touching something at 400 degrees will cause a person to spring back, but when the muffins are done, they spring back to touch, too!)

I served them warm with lunch and we decided they could be called Spiced Apple-banzo Soufflé. They were light and airy and very yummy. When I served them cold at supper, they had the texture of bread pudding. Spiced Apple-banzo Pudding? Also very yummy. No one had to think about them being gluten-free, dairy-free, and processed sugar free. But they were.

So there’s a couple of recipies.  I’m not sure if they’re detailed enough to follow. If anyone is inclined to make them and report back, I’ll acknowledge you as part of my test kitchen!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Apple Bakies.

Leave a Reply

