Authors.

When I was a child, I used to enjoy the card game Authors. It was basically a matching game to collect a full set of titles by a famous author. I played it enough to memorize all of the titles and who wrote them. I seriously think I got some of my SAT questions right because of that game.

I didn’t know the contents of the books, but I recognized the name James Fenimore Cooper. My spell check doesn’t recognize that name. It wants his middle name to be “Kenmore”.  Perhaps it would want his Last of the Mohicans to be moccasins? No. Mozambicans it is. That’s okay.

So yes, Authors. The game filled in some information for me. I must say I haven’t read most of the books still. But there are other authors that have filled in some information for me. I enjoyed reading Brené Brown’s Daring Greatly recently. She actually put into words what I had already experienced in my own publishing journey. Vulnerability. It’s a big deal. Embrace it. Or at least give it a hug. And then get to know it. Enough to embrace it and really live. If you don’t have time to read her book, you might want to watch her TED talk.

Another author I’ve recently read is Jena C. Henry. I was introduced to her by the marketing department of the publishing company I’m working with (iUniverse). Jena has written a novel about new retirees. Although the protagonist (Charli) and her husband don’t move in the same circles I do, the book The Golden Age of Charli: RSVP, is a fast and fun read with insight into learning to live as a couple in retirement after years of being a stay-at-home mom and a working dad. It has been fun to connect with a real live author who has recently gone through the process I’m in right now. You might want to check out her website.

The latest, author who has filled in information for me is brand new. Angela Tompkins recently wrote and published her experience with Postpartum Psychosis. The title is Insanity’s Shoes and it’s available on Amazon. I got my copy yesterday and finished reading it this morning.  Here’s a link to her Facebook page: Insanity’s Shoes.

Although Postpartum Psychosis is very rare, postpartum depression isn’t. I think this book can heighten awareness of both. It encourages mothers to accept and even ask for help. To not feel less than if they can’t “do it all” themselves. I think sometimes there is a sugar coating to motherhood that makes reality seem like some kind of failure. It’s not. There’s help and there’s hope.

Angela has shed light on something that has been in the darkness for too long. Her story is gripping. It’s a scary subject–what can happen with chemical imbalance in the brain. But it’s much easier to deal with things in the light. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has anything to do with motherhood. Husbands, wives, neighbors. It can increase compassion and possibly save lives.

And then there’s this author. Me. I didn’t set out to write a book, but in blogging my journey about learning to live with sugar addiction, I found out I’m not the only one who deals with this. I was encouraged to publish my writing to encourage people who also have sugar addiction and to shed light on the subject to those who live or work with sugar addicts. And that’s what I’m doing.

My book sheds light on what it’s like to be controlled by sugar and how powerful a grip it can have. It documents my successes and slip ups as I learned to pay attention to how I was feeling in conjunction with what I was eating. I’ve had people tell me that my writing helped them see their own struggle and how they could approach food in a different way. (Here! Distract that cupcake and I’ll sneak in from the side to get the turkey!)

My subject is weighty. (Sugar addiction led me to obesity, guilt, shame, hopelessness, depression, loss of impulse control, closet eating, impaired judgement, and mental fuzziness.) My approach is light. I like to play with words and that’s what I’ve done. In the process of all of this, I’ve become lighter in mind and in body. And I’ve written a book!

My original goal in learning to live with sugar addiction was to feel better. I didn’t know if I could lose weight. But in the process of time and tenacity (and who doesn’t want to hold on to feeling better?), I lost a lot of weight. I regained hope, impulse controls, mental clarity, and so much more. I got myself back. Maureen!

I appreciate everyone who has shown interest in reading my forthcoming book. Thank you. So much. To anyone who is waiting to read it to start their journey to feeling better, please don’t wait. Start paying attention to how you’re feeling. Pay attention to what you’re eating. If it’s three donuts, notice it. If it’s a whole box of donuts that you had in the freezer because you stocked up at the bakery outlet with a super deal, notice it. If you get a headache and feel like you just want to eat more donuts, notice it. If you fall asleep on the couch but didn’t realize it until you woke up with a stiff neck, pay attention. (I heard someone say recently that they were poor, but not too poor to pay attention!) This was what I had to pay. Attention. In all of those cases. And it was worth it.

It was worth it to me to write a book. It’s “daring greatly” for me to publish it. I hope it’s worth it to you to read it. And maybe even share it!

In the meantime, you might want to check out Insanity’s Shoes and let me know what you think.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Authors.

  1. I wish Ashley could have read Insanity’s Shoes when she was going through her postpartum depression after Maxwell. I’m looking forward to reading it myself and getting it for Ashley, even now. Authors, I loved that game and yes, I do believe it helped me get answers correct on tests also!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

