By design.

By design.

It has been a long time since I edited my high school yearbook.  Perhaps I could think of that era as the font of my youth. Some of those memories bubbled up this morning when I spoke with two designers about the cover and interior of my book.

I’m excited about the possibilities. I don’t have a lot of design experience, but I know what I don’t like. Based on what the designers said in return, I think they will come up with some good options.

The cover is important. I know a person isn’t supposed to judge a book by its cover. But really, it happens all the time. If the cover of Potatoes Not Prozac hadn’t grabbed my attention in 2011, I likely would have passed over the book as just paper and ink. There was something about it that made me want to take another look. To read the back cover. And then look inside and begin to change my paradigm.

I could go all political or psychological or something with this, but I’m just going to leave it there. In a couple of weeks I’ll have three mock ups from which to pick and choose. This book is really coming together. I’ll be able to say, “I’ve got it covered!”

I’ve never had an interior designer. My home decorating style is pretty much American Clearance and Thrift store finds. It works for me and my family. We use it and it works (most of the time). But it’s not something you’d find in a magazine. I try (operative word) to keep it simple, clean, and inviting.

This matter of  book interior design is a little different. Recently, I picked up a book to read and then I put it down again because I was too distracted by design features. Exotic fonts, highlighted blocks, flashy glyphs. I felt like I was trying to read an explosion in a spaghetti factory. That might work for some people, but it doesn’t work for me.

I want this book to be something I want to pick and read often. It’s part of my toolkit for managing my sugar addiction. I want it to be simple, clean, and inviting. Reassuring and confirming. I don’t want lots of fancy fonts and distractions. They seem a bit like sugar coating, to me, and that doesn’t seem appropriate for this particular book! When I was talking with my designer, he agreed with my thoughts and gave me enough feedback to let me know that we are on the same page.

I’m hoping this book will be something you want to pick up and read. It’s a book that can be read from cover to cover or just a little at a time, randomly. Reassuring, motivating, inspiring, confirming, amusing, thought provoking, simple, clean, and inviting. Yes. It’s that type.

 

One thought on “By design.

Leave a Reply

